The Eastern States Department includes Princess countries such as the cook behar, Mayurbhanj (in Orissa), the northeastern Tripura, Surguja, and many others (in Chhattisgarh). These countries had small armies, but many of them contributed to the Imperial Service Troops with their material and men.

South India has been incorporated into the Madras Regiment by the infantry battalions of the Princess Cochin, Travancore and Mysor States. The first Infantry in Travancore Nair, which dates back to 1741, and the Battle of Colachel, were the 9th Battalion of the Regiment of Madras, and then the second Battalion of Travancore Nair was the 16th Battalion. The 17th battalion was made an infantry battalion of the Cochin State Forces. The first Mysore State Infantry battalion formed the eighteenth battalion base, but even males from the other two national forces battalions were fused.

With the exception of the second Hyderabad Infantry, which was honoured with Hyderabad, each of the fifteen battalions of the state Hyderabad Forces was decommissioned as part of the success of The annexation and operation Polo of Hyderabad to the Indian Union. This unit has been called the 22nd Battalion of the Maratha Light Infantry and still contains 50% Muslim and 50% Maratha soldiers.


In northern India, during the Pakistani invasion by J&K State, the Kashmir and Jammu State Forces were well defeated and a number of siege fought and were thus wholesale incorporated into the Indian army as the special regiment, the Jammu Rifles and the Kashmir. The 16th battalion in the Dogra Regiment was created by Dogra recruits from the armies of the Princian States of the neighboring Pradesh.


The First Jind Infantry became the Punjab Regiment’s 13th battalion from the armed forces of the Sikh Principal states, the first was the 14th Nabha Akal Infantry, the 1nd was the 15th and the second was the 16th. Sikh Infantry became the 1st Patiala Rajinder Sikh Infantry.

Also : If you are interested to join indian army then you can also visit

In modern Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat, the highest concentration of Principal States. Following independence the Fourth Gwalior Infantry was designated as the Kumaon Regiment and the Indore Infantry as the 15th Kumaon Regiment. The Kutch State Force personnel were grouped into the Seventh Grenadiers and from the princely states in Saurasthra. The 18th Rajputana Rifles was also the Saurashtra infantry. The Sawai Man Guards from the state of Jaipur became the 17th rifle battalion and interested in combating the war in J&K.


The 1st Mewar Infantry, the 9th battalion of the Grenadiers Movement, led to Mewar the strongest condition in Rajputana. The Ganga Risala (Bikaner Camel Corps) was a camel unit established by Bikaner State that was amalgamated with the 1948 Jaisalmer Risala, and became the 13th Grenadier. In the 20th battalion of the Rajput Regiment the Jodhpur Sirdar Infantry was converted into Bikaner Sadul Lights Infantry ‘s 19th battalion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *